Re-visiting Forest Gump

The classic – “Life is like a box of chocolates, You never know what you gonna get!”

Even though I have watched this movie a few times, I cant help but to watch it again on TV today. There is something very captivating of this movie. The story of a “mentally disabled” man – how he perceived the world, see-ing the world through his own lens, and how he live his extraordinary life.

Maybe his “dumbness” gave him his undying honesty & integrity. Like the way he gave Baba’s family his share of the fortune he made – Unbelievable!

Maybe his “dumb obedience” gave him his capacity to love others. Like the way he accepts (disabled) Lt. Dan’s innitial ungrateful treatment, but ended up inspiring him to live a great life despite his disability. Like the way he accepts Jenny’s “screwed up” life, and even started a family with her, living a decent family life towards the end.

Jenny, I don’t know if Momma was right or if, if it’s Lieutenant Dan. I don’t know if we each have a destiny, or if we’re all just floating around accidental-like on a breeze, but I, I think maybe it’s both. Maybe both is happening at the same time.

That was the last part of the movie. Very sad part indeed. But it did make me think a little. Is life like a box of chocolates? Do I just eat it, and most importantly enjoy it, no matter what chocolate I get? Or is there a destiny? And what is it?

There is a seemingly mass-systematic imprintment of people’s lives today, mostly in the middle class. I have discussed this with my friends numerous times. What are we going to do about it?

Should I learn to enjoy my chocolates that i have, or is my little box of chocolate blocking my sight from “my destiny” – the bigger better bacon-chocolate-cheese elsewhere?

The perennial dilemma, which hopefully does make life more interesting!

Leave a Reply

