Friday Night Lights

I just watched Coach Carter in FX Movies, and it reminds me of another one of my favorite Sports Movie – Friday Night Lights.

They are similar in some ways, they enable me to experience those precious moments that every sportsman train and fight for – the passion for the game, your team mates and yourself. The feeling is indescribable.  

Maybe it was the great acting, sound effect and the editing, I was able to experience the immense and intense emotions as if I was part of the team, playing the game, listening to the coach. I guess these two movies were so successful because they each have a defining moment in the movie. For Coach Carter, it is the moment when Coach enters the gym after the lock out. And for Friday Night Lights, it is the speech given by the head coach during half time.   

Manage to find a link that has this clip.  

*********** It goes like this***********

Coach: “Now, ya’ll have known me for awhile, and for a long time now you’ve been hearin’ me talk about being perfect.”

Coach: “To me, being perfect is not about that scoreboard out there. It’s not about winning. It’s about you and your relationship to yourself and your family and your friends.” 

Sunbear: *AHUH* 

Coach: “Being perfect is about being able to look your friends in the eye and know that you didn’t let them down, because you told them the truth. And that truth is that you did everything that you could. There wasn’t one more thing that you could’ve done.” 

Coach: “Can you live in that moment, as best you can, with clear eyes and love in your heart? With joy in your heart?” “If you can do that gentlemen, then you’re perfect.” 

Sunbear: *WOW* pause a moment *FWOWWWW* 

*****************************************

Even when I am writing this now, I paused for a while to appreciate what he has said.  

My mind starts to wonder of to the past: When I was J2, playing in the deciding match of the 2001 National School’s ‘A’ Division Squash Finals. I lost. Maybe I was inexperience and could not cope with all the attention from the supporters outside the court. Or maybe it was the pressure. Or maybe I am not skillful enough. But I definitely could have played better. Thinking about my team mates, all the hard training we had together, all the court drills we did together, all the fitness training we went through, and our hunger to win the title.

Am I “able to look your friends in the eye and know that you didn’t let them down, because you told them the truth. And that truth is that you did everything that you could”? 

Have I been perfect?  

Rag Day 7 August 2004, if I close my eyes, I could still relive those amazing moments of emotional roller coaster of this special day.  They are still fresh.

Can you live in that moment, as best you can, with clear eyes and love in your heart? With joy in your heart?” 

In many ways, I am convinced that all of my team mates were, in the above sense, Perfect. But I am not sure whether we know that.  

Many of us, including myself, were too consumed by the fact that we lost to an inferior float. And we have forgotten what we have achieved collectively as a team. Through the 3 months of the project, the team has experienced so much commitment, passion and love in what we do.  

Most importantly,  

The contagious energy and passion that each and every individual puts in, which multiplies exponentially as we encourage and inspire each other to build a perfect float.  

Infectious Positive Energy! This is very rare, and precious. And, to me, an achievement. Perfect! 

I wish I could express this to my team on that day of disappointment, and not let the disappointment of losing cover up this great “Perfection” that we have achieved as a team.  

Anyway, looking ahead, I guess there are actually many facades of life where we could aspire to be ‘perfect’ in the above sense: Parenting, Relationships, Careers, etc. *wOOt*, there is an interesting & colorful life out there!

Leave a Reply

